WordPress eCommerce Plugins: WP e-Commerce vs Shopp

A lot of people have been trying to compare the WP e-Commerce (the WordPres e-Commerce Plugin) with the new Shopp Plugin for WordPress.

The truth is both Plugins have there pros and cons. But ultimately the WordPress e-Commerce Plugin wins for a numbers of reasons. Lets take a look at what matters to any would be online retailer:

Age: The WordPress e-Commerce Plugin has been around for a long time and is very reliable. With age comes Wisdom and lots and lots of work with retailers from all around the world – this knowledge is unparalleled.

Shipping Options: The WordPress e-Commerce Plugin wins trumps. There are many more options (again experience is shining through).

Variations: The WordPress e-Commerce Plugin has a much more elegant way of approving product variations – the interface fits nicely on the screen and makes common sense to retailers and shop owners wanting to sell online.

It also supports different files for different variations. This is great and shows how powerful the Variations functionality actually is.

Design: The WordPress e-Commerce Plugin was easy to get setup and easy to customize – it integrates with any WordPress theme (so its good for beginners) and for Theme designers the template tags offer enough power and flexibility to make your WordPress site look as hot as you can make it.

Support: There is a free support forum on both the Shopp website and the WP e-Commerce website. The WordPress e-Commerce team is generally friendly though – more WordPress(esque).

Upgrades: The WordPress e-Commerce Plugin has more features that make it appealing to shop owners – these options include better search tools, designs and much much more.

Conclusion: If online sales is what you want then the WordPress e-Commerce Plugin wins.

5 responses to “WordPress eCommerce Plugins: WP e-Commerce vs Shopp

  1. Poor behavior not WordPress spirit.

    I have been following the WordPress e-commerce and shopp debate and I must say that I am mighty unimpressed with the Shopp fanatics out there… Every time somebody posts about WP e-Commerce there is an obvious one liner putting it down and promoting Shopp.

    If I was to play the same game I would have posted about all the security flaws in Shopp months ago but I was being polite and holding my tounge.

    The Shopp Plugin has a range of flaws – if you use Shopp you might as well be giving your user database away – African spammers probably already have your credit card details. It’s a dangerours piece of software – and that being the case I would not use the Shopp Plugin.

  2. Thanks for the article. I’m researching my options now. I am thinking either Magento or WP with the e-Commerce plugin.

  3. Hello. I think this article is slightly biased but whatever – my own experiences are that I prefer the WordPress e-Commerce Plugin.

    I bought the gold cart and had a few problems at first but some guy called Thomas helped me get my site working the same day – I had some permissions incorectly set on my server. My mistake.

    Anyway I heard the interview with Dan and I liked what he said about contributing to the WordPress community for over 4 years. I liked that – it made me feel warm and fuzzy :)

    The most important thing to me was that the business knowledge behind the WP e-Commerce Plugin seemed much more sound.

    Blessings,

    Sara

  4. I just tried Shopp and WP e-Commerce Plugin and I am never going to use Shopp again. Figured the user interface on WP e-Commerce was heaps better to manage my music catalogue.

Leave a Reply

